Scott Name Only Colour.jpg
James Name Only Colour.jpg
Marc Name Only Colour.jpg
Matthew Name Only Colour.jpg
Craing Name Only Colour.jpg

With an average age of 26, Mason Hill is on a steep upward progression, This award winning band has supported Inglorious, Airbourne and Gun, made festival appearances at Download, Planet Rockstock, TRNSMT and Steelhouse, and played their own sold out headline shows at The Cathouse, The Garage and King Tuts.


This is a new band  very much in demand! The Scottish quintet's brand of Modern Hard Rock results in a batch of uncompromising riffs accompanied by anthemic sing along choruses and stadium friendly ballads. Their high energy live shows impress wherever they play, and they display the swagger and confidence of a band that has being doing it for more than twenty years.





In 2008 two school friends, vocalist  Scott Taylor and lead guitarist James Bird, acted on their musical chemistry and hooked up to write songs. The duo found success, winning the Scottish section of the European battle of the bands Surface Festival competition. This led to a performance at the O2 in London, but more importantly, planting seeds of what the future may hold.


With appetites well and truly whetted, Taylor and Bird formed Mason Hill in 2013 with drummer Craig McFetridge being the first to join the ranks. After a few personnel changes, bassist Matthew Ward settled into the role in 2015, with guitarist Marc Montgomery completing the line-up in 2016 - allowing Taylor to concentrate solely on vocals.


Mason Hill has spent the next few years "learning their craft" on stages up and down the UK. This included high profile shows supporting the likes of Graham Bonnet (Rainbow), Snakecharmer (feat. ex-Whitesnake, Thunder & Wishbone Ash members), Toseland, Marco Mendoza (Whitesnake, Thin Lizzy, Ted Nugent, The Dead Daisies) and Stone Broken.



“this is the best new heavy rock act currently performing in the UK.”

(Fabrications HQ)

“a prodigious talent that belies their fledgling years.”

(Planet Rock)



In December 2015 the band released their debut E.P, the self titled 'Mason Hill', featuring four tracks which highlighted exactly why this band are turning heads - outstanding songs that demonstrated a maturity far beyond their years. Recorded at The Foundry Music Lab with Sandy Jones (Wet Wet Wet) in the producer's chair, the E.P has been critically acclaimed amongst the music press and fans alike.


2016 brought several breakthroughs in the band's career, firstly the invitation to perform on The Rising Stage at Ramblin' Man Fair, headlined by Whitesnake and Black Stone Cherry, winning the UK wide Highway To Hell battle of the bands competition that earned them opening the main stage slot at Hard Rock Hell, alongside the likes of Ugly Kid Joe, Ratt and Glenn Hughes, appearing at Winterstorm Festival, alongside the likes of Ricky Warwick, Last in Line (ex-Dio) and Inglorious to selling out their first ever headline show at the famous Cathouse Rock Club in Glasgow with one month left to spare - a feat only achieved in recent times by Anthrax and Black Stone Cherry.


The career progression continued into early 2017 when the band was special guest to Inglorious in London at their sold out second album launch show, appeared triumphantly at Download on The Boardie Takeover Stage, opened for Airbourne at their sold out show in Edinburgh. and returned to their hometown for their second headline show at G2;  again this sold out with demand so great that it was upgraded to the 750 capacity The Garage where the likes of Magnum, Tesla and Symphony X have performed - packing the place to the rafters


The first promo video  “'Now You See Me” was released in 2017, which to date has more than a quarter of a million views.


The year ended with support for GUN at  Glasgow Barrowlands in December plus an appearance

at Planet Rockstock:


"Fresh-faced Glasgow boys Mason Hill were nothing short of a triumph. Completely packing out the room, they served up a rock and roll storm from the offset with anthems like ‘Now You See Me’ before showing off another side of their art with powerful closer ‘Where I Belong’ that delved into rock ballad territory. In fact, the Planet Rockstock faithful were so won over we’ve been inundated with requests for Mason Hill to be bumped up the bill in 2018”(Planet Rock)


In 2018 there has been a strong  focus on writing and developing new material with a view to the much anticipated debut album. The first show of the year was at Glasgow’s King Tuts which sold out in three days, ten weeks in advance of show!


Ladies and gentlemen - Mason Hill are back with fire in their belly. This group of high achievers carry the pressure of early success but as they take to the stage to the intro tape, it is obvious they have class and confidence..." (Down The Front Media)


"There are few up and coming acts in Scotland that have made a notable impression as swiftly as Glasgow rockers Mason Hill. They have grown in popularity and garnered an insane following like nothing else” (SMS, Scotland)


“Mason Hill never disappoint, in fact they always take it to the next level every time you see them” (Jace Media)


This was followed by an appearance at TRNSMT on the same day as Queen, and Steelhouse Festival in Wales alongside such as Black Star Riders, Glenn Hughes and Myles Kennedy.


The latter part of 2018 sees Mason Hill going out on tour supporting The Dan Reed Network at shows across the UK and a return to Planet Rockstock, by popular demand after their performance in 2017, this time on the main stage.


In a further development Mason Hill agreed to part ways with Frontiers Records.


Plans are being made to take the band forward into 2019 and the first step on that road is a single and video release In October 2018, “Hold on”, the band’s first release in more than 2 years. Recorded at Riverside Studios near Glasgow, the single is mixed by Brian Sperber of Electric Lady Studio in New York (Ozzy, Alterbridge, 3 Doors Down, Patti Smith) and is the first new track to herald the band’s new sound and album scheduled for 2019.


2019 promises to be a hugely exciting and ground breaking year for Mason Hill!






- Beat 12,000 bands to win Scottish section of Surface Festival competition.


- Invited to perform at Ramblin' Man Fair 'Rising stage' alongside the likes of Whitesnake, Black Stone Cherry, Thin Lizzy, Inglorious.


- Outright winner for Hard Rock Hell's UK wide battle of the bands 'Highway To Hell'.


- Opened Hard Rock Hell 2016 main stage.


- Opened for Toseland,  Graham Bonnet, Marco Mendoza, Snakecharmer & Stone Broken.


- 2 appearances at Winterstorm Festival alongside like of Ricky Warwick, Toseland, FM, Inglorious, the Quireboys


- Sold out first headline show at Cathouse  Glasgow


- Supported Inglorious at Islington Assembly Halls, London



- Appeared at Download, Boardie Takeover Stage


- Supported Airbourne at Liquid Rooms, Edinburgh


- Sold out second headline show at G2 and upgraded to The Garage


- Supported Gun at Glasgow Barrowlands, December 2017


- Appeared at Planet Rockstock, December 2017


- First headline UK tour, 2017


- May 2018 show at King Tuts Glasgow sold out in 3 days, 10 weeks before the show


- TRNSMT appearance in July 2018 on the bill with Queen, The Darkness,       Temperance      Movement and Gun


- Steelhouse Festival, Wales


-October announcement if new single release, “Hold on”


- November 2018 UK tour support announced with The Dan Reed Network


-December 2018, return to Planet Rockstock on the main stage